I Suck At Social Media

I suck at social media. Facebook, Twitter, blogging… I’m pretty much useless at all of it. I’ve tried to sit down and analyze why, and I think it comes down to two main reasons.

1. It feels like too much work.
This applies in particular to writing blog entries, but it’s also true for microblogging like Facebook and Twitter. If I’m doing something interesting, I don’t feel the need to stop doing it in order to tell people about it. All that does is take me away from the thing that’s interesting me. And for longer blog entries, it’s even more the case. It seems like there’s always something else I should be doing (e.g., writing) or something else I’d rather be doing (e.g., playing video games). Sitting down and typing up a post feels like having to write a college essay.

2. I have self-esteem issues.
The first reason follows directly from this one. I believe that blogging, tweeting, etc, wouldn’t feel so much like work if I believed that other people were actually interested. But I don’t. And so every time I start to make a status update or send out a tweet, I invariably stop myself by saying “does anybody really care what I have to say?” Writing blog entries is reduced in my mind to keeping a diary — writing about things that no one reads and wouldn’t care about if they did.

Now, the problem, of course, is that this becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. If I never update, naturally no one’s going to read. And if no one’s reading, I feel no impetus to update. So, clearly, the solution is for me to suck it up and do the work. And this is the plan. I’m going to try and update twice a week. Tuesdays, I’ll do a post like this one, talking briefly about some random topic that interests me. Thursdays, I will post up a photo, drawing, or other image file that I’ve recently seen, and talk about why I like it. And we’ll go from there and see how that works.

About erikrmoore

Erik Moore was born and raised in Birmingham, Alabama. From a young age, he was an avid reader, and recalls that the first book he read on his own was "Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day". He was teased at school for being a geek and frequently dealt with it by retreating into the fantasy worlds of stories, other people's at first, and then those of his own creation. Though a writing enthusiast, his first love and vocation will always be computer programming and website development. He currently resides in Florida with his wife and their menagerie of dogs and cats, and wears his geek label proudly.
This entry was posted in social media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

