Multimedia Thursday 2/16/12

Today’s Multimedia Thursday is musical. The song is “Walking in London” by Concrete Blonde.

Walking in London was the second Concrete Blonde album I owned, the first being Bloodletting. But it was the first one that I bought for myself. And this song was, of course, the title track from that album.

What I love about a lot of Concrete Blonde songs, and this one in particular, is the sensuality of it. The bluesy kind of rhythm that I can’t help swaying my hips to, the breathy voice that cuts right through me, the drum beats at just the right speed to coax my heart into beating in time. It’s the kind of song that I would strip to if I had the body for stripping.

And that doesn’t even touch on the actual lyrics. What it evokes for me is a person at once desperately in love and desperately afraid of that feeling. No matter how far she runs or where she hides, she can’t escape it. The memory of her lover, the emotions they drew out of her, are always with her, pulling her back.

Because “Bloodletting” was the first song of Concrete Blonde’s that I ever heard, and I was very much into vampire mythos at the time I bought the album, I also constructed the mental narrative of a fledgling vampire trying to escape her sire, trying to deny her new nature, but constantly being followed by her sire in each new city. Not in the sense of trying to force her back, but just to remind her of what she is, where she belongs.

Even now, almost 20 years later, that imagery has stuck with me. Every time I hear it, I still fall into that world I created around it, let that sensuality wash over me. There aren’t very many other songs that have made such a lasting impact on me. And that’s why I love it.

About erikrmoore

Erik Moore was born and raised in Birmingham, Alabama. From a young age, he was an avid reader, and recalls that the first book he read on his own was "Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day". He was teased at school for being a geek and frequently dealt with it by retreating into the fantasy worlds of stories, other people's at first, and then those of his own creation. Though a writing enthusiast, his first love and vocation will always be computer programming and website development. He currently resides in Florida with his wife and their menagerie of dogs and cats, and wears his geek label proudly.
This entry was posted in multimedia thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

